{slow cooker} Sour Cream Chicken

Here’s another oldie but goodie that I dusted off from the archives. This amazing crock pot dish is brought to you by my mama. I still remember the first time she made it. We were newly weds and came home for the weekend to visit. There were all eight of my siblings and a warm pot of this waiting for us when we got there. It felt good to be home. After all these years this dish is still a favorite and I think of her every time I make it. Love the flavor, love the easy crockpot meals and love that my kids can’t get enough of it. And I love that mom of mine too.

2-4 chicken breasts
*1 can cream of chicken soup
½ c mayo
½ pint sour cream
1 cup cheese
1 tsp lemon juice
salt and fresh cracked pepper (to taste)
Place chicken, cream of chicken soup (or substitute), lemon juice, salt and pepper in crockpot and cook on low 5-6 hrs. During the last hour of cooking time, shred chicken then add mayo, sour cream and cheese. Serve over rice, sprinkle with shredded cheese and season with salt and pepper.

*I substitute the cream of chicken soup with 2 Tbs butter, 2 Tbs flour, 1 C milk, 1 tsp chicken bouillon. Melt the butter, whisk in the flour and stir for a minute. Whisk in milk and bouillon and continue stirring until thickened then pour over chicken in the crockpot

*Source: Janette Jolley

var r = document.URL;

6 thoughts on “{slow cooker} Sour Cream Chicken

  1. Janessa says:

    This is one of our favorites from mom too! I haven't been on here for a while (I haven't been cooking either for a while). You have some yummy new recipes I want to try. I just have to tell you how impressed I am with your food pictures. I can always tell which recipes you post because they have the best pictures with them. You make the food look so yummy (not that I think it wouldn't be good). Nice skills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

