Candied Cinnamon Popcorn

Okay, wait just a minute. Before you write this off as just another popcorn recipe, you have to hear me out. My obsession with cinnamon popcorn began years ago when a bunch of us girls got together in our pj’s with our favorite munchies to watch the Bachelor (which, as a side note I am really missing American TV, I heard the Bachelor this season is a doozy!). My friend brought some popcorn drizzled with melted butter and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and a dash of salt. Like pretty much the perfect combination. I think I sat hiding in the corner eating the entire bowl.  I have made it too many times to count since then, but recently I wanted more. I know, if you give a mouse a cookie….so I was on a hunt. I absolutely love this baked caramel popcorn, so when I found a baked cinnamon popcorn I know it would be love at first bite. And it was. Everything I could ever want in a popcorn was right at my fingertips. And now my life is complete. The end. PS- it also makes the house smell amazing.

IMG_6181
1/2 cup popcorn kernels
⅓ cup of sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup butter
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 300. Pop kernels with an air popper (or use about 2 bags of microwave popcorn). In a saucepan over medium heat, whisk together butter, sugar, cinnamon and salt and bring to a boil. Continue cooking for 1-2 minutes until well combined and a little thickened. Drizzle mixture over the popcorn in a bowl and gently stir until evenly coated. Pour popcorn in a single layer on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes, stirring halfway through. Let cool before serving.

Source | Budget Savvy Diva

4 thoughts on “Candied Cinnamon Popcorn

Leave a Reply

