Tortellini Chicken Noodle Soup

I love tortellini and I love chicken noodle soup, so the marriage of the two seemed like an obvious union. When I came across this recipe it was one of those why didn’t I ever think of that?? moments (sorta like the Ravioli Lasagna).  And then when I took that first bite it was the delicious fairytale happily ever after that I imagined it would be. We have had such a beautiful summer, unlike soooome summers here (ahem, 2014) that I’m starting to get excited to hunker down and hibernate for the winter. My wardrobe this week has consisted of varying combinations of hoodies and yoga pants and I’m stock piling my soup recipes for the winter (at least for the whole 3 months we have left here. Such bittersweet emotions about that, so we’re just not talking about it). When I woke up this morning to gray skies and sweater weather I knew this soup needed to be on the menu for dinner. It was perfect, just hit the spot in all the comfort foodish ways that soup is supposed to. You best believe I’ll be adding this to the menu rotation as much as I can before heading back to the scorching Arizona summer!

IMG_6338
1 1/2 Tbs olive oil
3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
2 stalks celery, chopped
1/2 yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 (14.5 oz) cans low-sodium chicken broth
1 bay leaf
1 1/2 t Italian seasoning
salt and pepper, to taste
12oz refrigerated three cheese tortellini
1/2 C chopped parsley
1 rotisserie chicken, shredded
*I’m not a huge celery fan, and call me odd, but I love diced potatoes and frozen peas in my chicken noodle soup. If any potato and pea fans care to unite, just add them right after the broth and let them boil until the potatoes are tender before adding the tortellini

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add carrots, celery, and onion, and saute for about 3-4 minutes.Add the garlic, and cook an additional minute. Stir in chicken broth, bay leaf, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, then cover and let boil for 5 minutes. Add tortellini and parsley, turn heat down to a simmer, cover and cook for about 6 minutes. Remove bay leaf. Stir in chicken and cook until heated through.

Source | Baking with Blondie

One thought on “Tortellini Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

