Apple Orchard Bars

IMG_6323

I was Skyping with my sister the other day while she was busy in the kitchen cooking, and one by one each of her kids came home from school and got so excited when they found out what she was making for their after school snack. When I saw their level of anticipation, I just knew I needed to try these infamous Apple Orchard Bars for myself. Especially when she told me this was the third time she had made them in one week. Gimme, gimme! They definitely lived up to all the hype! So moist and with the perfect flavor combination. Hot out of the oven with a tall glass of cold milk…it was my turn to have some very happy campers sitting around my kitchen table after school today!

IMG_6331

½ cup melted butter
½ cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
½ c rolled oats
1 ½ cups flour
2 medium apples, peeled and chopped
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1 ½ cup flaked coconut, divided *(I prefer the dessicated coconut, but I can’t remember if they have it in the US? it’s just a finely grated coconut that gives it a great texture without the bigger pieces. It’s great if you’re not a huge coconut fan)

Preheat oven to 375. In a mixing bowl, add butter, sugars, baking soda, salt, baking powder, vanilla, cinnamon and eggs. Stir together. Pour in flour and oats mix thoroughly. Add chopped apples and 1 cup flaked coconut. Fold into batter until evenly combined. Grease 9X13 pan. Pour mixture into pan and smooth out. Sprinkle ½ cup of remaining coconut and sliced almonds evenly on top. Bake at 375 for 25 minutes or till slightly browned on top. Let cool and cut into bars.

Source | Six Little Chefs

One thought on “Apple Orchard Bars

Leave a Reply

