Battered Ciabatta Ham and Cheese Melt

I recently got back from a girl’s weekend in Sydney with my sweet friend who came all the way from the States to see me (love that girl, love that city).  We had an incredible time exploring that beautiful city and had some pretty delicious food while we were there too. Surprisingly, one of our favorite meals was at the airport. I know, right?! Airport food often gets a bad rap, but The Coffee Club was a little diamond in the rough. My dish was delicious, but honestly I can’t even remember what it was because I was so busy drooling over this amazing sandwich that my friend ordered. I know a sandwich is not a novel idea, we’re not trying to reinvent the wheel here, but the small details like cooking the bread in an egg batter similar to french toast and then adding the extra cheese on top was just enough to make this a stand out dish. I was excited to recreate it when I got back and it was welcomed with rave reviews. From now on whenever I eat this I’ll be reminded of that incredible weekend. Good food, great memories. I like that. And as a side note, you have to, I mean HAVE to serve it dipped in my all time favorite Tomato Bisque Soup. It’s enough to make your eyes roll in the back of your head.

IMG_6418
Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Whisk together eggs and milk, season with salt and pepper. Cut rolls in half lengthwise and dip each side in egg mixture then arrange on skillet. Cook each side for 3-4 minutes, or until lightly browned.

IMG_6408
Preheat oven to broil. Layer ham onto the bottom rolls, top with a slice of cheese and broil for about 2 minutes, or until cheese starts to melt. Add the top rolls and top each with an additional slice of cheese. Return to oven and cook for an additional 2 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and starting to bubble.

IMG_6417

6 ciabatta rolls (or 1 loaf, sliced)
4 eggs
1 Tbs milk
salt and pepper to taste
1 lb deli shaved ham
12 slices Mozzarella or Swiss cheese (or your favorite cheese)

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Whisk together eggs and milk, season with salt and pepper. Cut rolls in half lengthwise and dip each side in egg mixture then arrange on skillet. Cook each side for 3-4 minutes, or until lightly browned. Preheat oven to broil. Layer ham onto the bottom rolls, top with a slice of cheese and broil for about 2 minutes, or until cheese starts to melt. Add the top rolls and top each with an additional slice of cheese. Return to oven and cook for an additional 2 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and starting to bubble. Enjoy warm out of the oven, or dipped in this delicious Tomato Bisque Soup:

IMG_7472

Source | inspired by The Coffee Club

4 thoughts on “Battered Ciabatta Ham and Cheese Melt

  1. Janessa says:

    Oh, heaven help me! This stuff looks worthy of dying for. And would most definitely have to be eaten with your tomato bisque. Excuse me. I think I need to run to the store now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

