Blueberry Crumb Muffins

Guys, I’m so excited. This weekend I get tag along as a counselor to our church’s Girl’s Camp (we’re just coming out of summer here). I know that probably wouldn’t rank too high on most people’s list of exciting weekend plans, but for me I have the best memories of Girls Camp when I was a youth. Covering each other’s cabins in maxi pads and living off Fun Dip for an entire week straight. Good times… I don’t plan on sneaking out to go skinny dipping in the lake, but we do have some pretty fun things planned and I’m excited that I get to go with my daughter. So yeah, the whole point of this is…muffins. We are all bringing some home baked goodies to share, and along with my favorite go-to-never-fail Chocolate Chip Cookies, I knew I just had to make these muffins. Muffins are pretty much the best thing to take camping, or anywhere. They are so versatile and can double as breakfast or a snack, or satisfy the midnight munchies when you’re in the middle of an intense round of Truth or Dare. Who am I kidding, that’s when the chocolate comes into play. But if you were craving something sweet, moist and fluffy, these Blueberry Crumb Muffins would definitely fit the bill. They are just straight up delicious.

IMG_6395
Preheat oven to 400 and prepare muffin tin. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Be sure to mix gently so that you don’t smoosh them. Then your batter turns all purple and it’s just not the same.

IMG_6366
Make the crumb topping by mixing together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Smash with fork until butter is evenly distributed, and refrigerate until to ready to use to give the butter a chance to harden up a little. You want it to be nice and crumbly without lumps of butter.

IMG_6369

Fill 12 muffin cups 3/4 full and sprinkle with crumb topping. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_6371

IMG_6376
And then try not to eat them all before Girls Camp. I did sneak one, and it was divine. But I have to admit that I’ve been a little disappointed in the last two batches of muffins I made this week because the centers have been sinking and not fluffing up like usual. I told my husband that I was worried I had lost the touch, but after frantically googling “how to avoid muffins from sinking” I think I found the problem. If your baking powder has been opened for 6 months then it won’t do it’s thing. I bought a big tub of baking powder because I feel like I use it so much, but now I know to get a smaller size so that it stays fresh. Just a little FYI in case you find yourself with the same problem. And a happy weekend to you!

IMG_6391
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 cup milk (approximately)
1 cup fresh blueberries
Crumb topping
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, room temp
1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 and prepare muffin tin. Make the crumb topping by mixing together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Smash with fork until butter is evenly distributed, and refrigerate until to ready to use to give the butter a chance to harden up a little. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill 12 muffin cups 3/4 full and sprinkle with crumb topping. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

One thought on “Blueberry Crumb Muffins

  1. Janessa says:

    I just made your blueberry banana bread (as muffins) a few days ago. This sounds like a fabulous blueberry muffin option as well. You definitely know how to do muffins. And I can’t wait to hear all about your girls camp adventures. Memories….

    Like

Leave a Reply

