{30 minute} Beef and Broccoli

I got back this evening from girls camp, and it was just awesome. Midnight dance parties, a giant mudslide, toilet papering cabins, an outdoor movie night, yummy food, fun crafts and lots of smiles. I even had the pleasure of introducing many of them to s’mores and Hot Tamales for their first time (thanks to a recent business trip back to the states for my husband). It was a beautiful thing to witness. But now it’s back to reality, and reality meant that four hungry boys who lived off pizza and cold cereal were waiting for me at home. When I was planning the menu before I left I knew I would need something quick and easy when I got back, but also something delicious enough that even after the epic Nerf war and untapped candy supply they had during their fun weekend with Dad, they would still be happy to see me. This meal was the obvious choice. It doesn’t take long to whip up, but man is it good. The savory sauce is the perfect flavor with just a hint of heat. It hit the spot, and it was good to know that my cooking and I had been missed.

IMG_7284

2/3 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 tablespoon cornstarch
2 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound flank steak, thinly sliced across the grain
1 head broccoli, cut into florets
1 1/2-2 cups uncooked rice

Cook rice according to pacakage directions. In a saucepan over medium heat, whisk together soy sauce, broth, honey, rice vinegar, brown sugar, garlic, sesame oil, ginger and red pepper flakes and bring to a boil. In a small dish, whisk together the cornstarch and water and slowly pour into the sauce, whisking continually. Bring back to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for 5-8 minutes, or until thickened. Meanwhile, add broccoli florets to a microwave safe bowl, add a few tablespoons of water, cover with plastic wrap and cook for 2-3 minutes, or until tender but not too soggy. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat. Season the meat with salt and pepper then add to the pan. Cook the meat for 2-3 minutes then flip and cook the other side for an additional 2-3 minutes (don’t over cook it) Pour the sauce into the pan, add the broccoli then gently stir and cook a few minutes until heated through. Serve immediately on top of cooked rice.

Source | Oh Sweet Basil

3 thoughts on “{30 minute} Beef and Broccoli

  1. Janessa says:

    I’m sure you and your cooking were very missed! What an awesome girl’s camp experience you had. I’m guessing you were labeled “The Favorite Leader”. You are awesome! I can’t wait to try this dinner. I’m adding to my menu for the week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

