{healthy} Banana Cream Pie Smoothie

I love my sister. Well, I love all 5 of my sisters, but I’m especially close with Janessa who is exactly one year and four days older than me. We didn’t always get along, you know the cliche teenage years fighting over clothes and boys (and one epic pop-tart fight), but now that we have grown up and I’ve forgiven her for taking my favorite plaid shirt to college with her, it absolutely kills me to be all the way on the other side of the world from her. Our bi-monthly skype sessions just don’t cut it. But I love that she has started a food blog too, there’s just something about making her recipes and knowing that she made the same thing in her kitchen that just makes me feel close to her.  And it helps that every recipe of hers that I’ve tried has been nothing short of amazing. When she posted this recipe a little while ago I know it would be an instant hit. I mean, she had me at Banana Cream Pie Smoothie. I would have made it even if it did have like 500 calories, but the fact that it’s pretty healthy is just an added bonus. It really is just as good as she claimed it would be. The rich flavor makes me think I should feel guilty, but with natural sweeteners (okay, unless you splurge and go with the vanilla wafers and a dallop of whipped cream on top, which are both optional but for all intents and purposes, you MUST include them 🙂 ), it’s okay to slurp this one down guilt free. Bottoms up!

This Banana Cream Pie Smoothie isn't just delicious, it's HEALTHY too!!

2 bananas, sliced and frozen (make sure they are frozen before hand to get that creamy texture)
1/3 cup low-fat vanilla Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups vanilla almond milk
4 vanilla wafer cookies (optional-we don’t have vanilla wafers here so I used graham crackers that my sweet husband brought back all the way from the States)
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
6 ice cubes (more or less to fit your desired consistency)
Whipped cream (to garnish)

*Makes one smoothie

Directions:
Throw all ingredients in the blender. Blend thoroughly until smooth and creamy. Top with dollop of whip cream and crushed graham cracker or vanilla wafer, if desired. Serve immediately.

Source | Six Little Chefs

2 thoughts on “{healthy} Banana Cream Pie Smoothie

  1. Janessa says:

    I left a comment on this a while ago but I just noticed it didn’t post. I couldn’t walk away without posting a comment on this one! I love you so much and am glad we made it past the pop tarts and plaid shirt. Haha! I love this recipe/food connection we’ve got to help us survive while you’re on the OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD! It always makes me smile when I make one of your recipes too. Glad you like this one. You’re the best! No, no, no. YOU’RE the best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

