{slow cooker} Refried Beans

I’m a simple girl with simple needs. Give me a bean and cheese burrito and I’m happy all day. Give it to me smothered and that could buy an entire week of happiness. Unless of course the kids start fighting over who had the lego light saber first and then all happiness bets are off. I digress. So it has been hard living here with limited access to Mexican Food and certain ingredients (tomatillooooossss and limes that don’t cost $42/kg!). Every once in a while I have splurged and paid $5 for a can of refried beans, because some occasions in life just call for seven layer dip and there’s just no way around it. But what I was really missing was dry pinto beans so that I could make THE most delicious homemade refried beans ever. I mean, sometimes if you venture to think outside of the El Paso Refriend Beans can then life will reward you big time. My friend passed this little gem along to me years ago and it has never left my side. As we were planning our menu for girls camp (are you tired of hearing me talk about girls camp yet??) we were planning on nachos and I groaned about the fact that our budget probably wouldn’t allow for $30 worth of refried beans. And that’s when after 22 months of living here I learned where to buy dry pinto beans. Such a shame to have missed out on this recipe for so long, but I’ll tell you what, making them for the first time after so long was like falling in love all over again. So. Freaking. Good.

The best refried beans ever!

3 C dry pinto beans (rinsed)
½ onion, peeled and cut in half
9 C of water
5 tsp salt
1 ¾ tsp pepper
2 T minced garlic
1/8 tsp ground cumin
Put all ingredients in crockpot and cook on high for about 8 hrs. After they are done, drain all the liquid and save the liquid. Mash beans with potato masher or beaters then add liquid a little at a time until desired consistency. You want them a little runny because they thicken after being refrigerated. Serve warm, cover and refrigerate left overs then reheat in microwave.

Source | Chelsea Figgins

2 thoughts on “{slow cooker} Refried Beans

  1. Janessa says:

    How sad that you are JUST finding out about the dried pinto beans! I’m glad you found each other though and for the joyous reunion! I’m sure the girls camp crew loved having you on board for so many reasons and one of them would definitely have been for your food. And kuddos on the pictures. Refried beans can be a tough sell, but you make them look so good! Such talent 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

