{Country Style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie

Hey there! I hope your week is chugging along just great. It’s half way over! My kids are out on Fall break and while the first part was spent doing an incredible road trip on the North Island, this second week so far has been spent with me in bed sick as a dog, while the kids have worn the same pajamas for three days straight. And I don’t even want to know how many hours of minecraft they logged. And I’m pretty sure no one has brushed their teeth. But yesterday I was feeling well enough to get back into the kitchen (a big smooch to my husband for picking up take out for dinner and coming home at lunch time to make sure they ate more than just chocolate easter eggs and salt & vinegar chips for lunch), I knew I wanted some good old fashioned comfort food. Especially as the wind has been howling and the rain has been pouring nonstop outside. This dish was exactly what I needed to hit the spot. For years when I heard the word “chicken pot pie”, I always had flashbacks of my elementary school cafeteria. And for years I wanted nothing to do with this dish. Well into my married years I decided to give it a try, but it was one of those canned cream of potato soup and frozen veggies sort of deal and it just didn’t do it for me. Then a few years ago I came across this recipe and was tempted by it’s fresh ingredients and homecooked appeal so I gave it a try. And I’m so glad I did. And so is the rest of my family. The warm, creamy, flavorful filling just hits the spot in all the right ways, and It’s been a classic dish at our table ever since. My three year old often requests “popping chicken pie”. Close enough.

{Country Style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie

Preheat oven to 375. In a saucepan, combine carrots, peas, potatoes and celery. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, thyme, parsley and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and add shredded chicken and veggies. Mix together then pour into pie crust.

{country style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie
Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away excess dough. Whisk egg then brush on top of crust. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

{country style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie

{country style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie

{country style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie

2- 9 inch refrigerated pie crusts (or your favorite homemade recipe, mine is here)
Filling:
1 rotisserie chicken, meat removed and shredded
1 cup sliced carrots
1 cup frozen green peas
1/2 cup sliced celery
2 potatoes, diced
1/3 cup butter
1/3 cup chopped onion
½ cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon celery seed
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp dried parsley
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup milk
1 egg

Preheat oven to 375. In a saucepan, combine carrots, peas, potatoes and celery. Add water to cover and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside. In the saucepan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, thyme, parsley and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and add shredded chicken and veggies. Mix together then pour into pie crust. Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut away excess dough. Whisk egg then brush on top of crust. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10 minutes before serving

8 thoughts on “{Country Style} Rotisserie Chicken Pot Pie

  1. tentimestea says:

    Oh yum! I think I’m gradually changing my mind on chicken pot pie after seeing this recipe…I’ve always been sort of scared of it, but this makes it sound so appealing 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

