ANZAC Biscuits

ANZAC Biscuits

I’ve loved living here in New Zealand, for many obvious reasons. But I especially love that my kids are getting exposed to a new culture. It’s so good for them to realize that the world is a bigger place than just our little Arizona bubble. I love the kiwi phrases they have picked up, and every time I hear them sing kapa haka songs or the national anthem at assemblies it just gives me chills.  With ANZAC day coming up they’ve had a chance to learn about the roll New Zealand played in World War I, and a reverence for the many lives that were lost. ANZAC stands for the “Australia New Zealand Army Corps”, and ANZAC day (on April 25) commemorates the anniversary of the day the troops landed on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey. The conflict that followed led to the deaths of over 150,000 total. Thanks to Google for all these facts, I’m still learning the history myself as well. So the story behind the ANZAC biscuit is that rolled oat cookies were sold at galas, festivals and public events at home in order to raise funds for the war effort. The most popular of these cookies was given the title of the “ANZAC biscuit” and that is how the name came about. So there’s a little side of history with these absolutely delicious cookies. It’s hard to imagine how a cookie could help in a war effort, but after you taste these you can see why. They’re super quick and easy to throw together, and don’t follow a traditional cookie recipe so they have a unique but delicious flavor and texture. My daughter declared these were tied with White Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut cookies as her favorite cookie. Fair enough. I hope you get a chance to make these, and I hope you take a moment to remember all those who have served from which ever country you are in, and especially those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the name of freedom.

ANZAC Biscuits

ANZAC Biscuits

1/2 cup + 1 Tbs butter
1/4 cup golden syrup (can substitute with corn syrup)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 Tbs hot water
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup desiccated coconut
1 cup rolled oats

Preheat oven to 350. In a medium saucepan, melt butter and golden syrup until it just begins to boil. Remove from heat. Dissolve baking soda in hot water then mix into the saucepan. In a separate bowl, mix flour, sugar, coconut and oats. Gradually mix it into the saucepan and stir until combined. Using a tablespoon, scoop out the mixture and place at least 2 inches apart on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Press with a fork to flatten. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until golden.

ANZAC Biscuits

Source | The Great New Zealand Cookbook

10 thoughts on “ANZAC Biscuits

    • zsazsa says:

      THE ANZAC COOKIES ARE CRUNCHY AND DELICIOUS, MINE KEEP TURNING OUT PAPER THIN AND CRUNCY (STILL DENINE), WHAT AM I DOING TO HAVE THIS RESULT? I ‘VE MADE “4”BATCHES. WHAT TYPE OF GOLDEN SYRUP DO YOU SUGGEST?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Whisked Away says:

        Hmmmm….the funny thing is that all the Anzac biscuits I have eaten have been thin and crunchy, so I thought maybe I had done something wrong when I had made them. But they turned out delicious and I preferred them a little softer. The golden syrup I use is just a generic one I found in the grocery store. I wonder if you increased the dry ingredients or decreased the butter and corn syrup? Sorry, wish I knew for sure!

        Like

  1. Loretta says:

    These Anzac biscuits look a treat, anything with Golden Syrup in them has to :). Thanks for that bit of history too. By the way, when your post came up on my Reader, there was no name under the title, so I wasn’t quite sure it was really you, till I clicked on the post. You might have to go to your settings and change that around?

    Like

Leave a Reply

