Classic Dutch Apple Pie

So I’ve got a thing for apple desserts. There’s just something about warm slightly tart and tender apples swimming in caramel sauce and melted ice cream that just gets me going. Plus, if it has fruit and oats in it then I’m totally justified in eating two slices. And eating it again for breakfast. Right? Apple pie is one of my all time favorites, but it’s one of those special occasion only things. I feel like I’m being unfaithful to Thanksgiving if I dare make it any other time of year. It’s become a tradition to make my apple pie from scratch every year and I just don’t want the novelty to wear off. BUT, I can totally justify making this Dutch Apple Pie any day of the year. Without fluted edges and a criss cross top, I am totally not cheating on Thanksgiving. Plus this is much quicker to whip together but still tastes phenomenal. Mmmm….seeing the pictures is making me crave it all over again.

Classic Dutch Apple Pie

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, melted butter, and oats until well combined. Remove 1 cup of the mixture and set aside for the topping, press remaining crumb mixture into a 9-inch greased pie pan and set aside. In a large saucepan over medium high heat, whisk together the sugar, cornstarch and water until smooth. Bring to a boil and constantly stir while it boils for 2 minutes, until the mixture is thickened). Remove saucepan from heat and stir in the diced apples and vanilla then pour into the pie pan.

Classic Dutch Apple Pie
Top with the remaining 1 cup reserved crumb mixture.

Classic Dutch Apple Pie
Bake for 40-45 minutes, until the crust is a golden brown. Let cool before serving, otherwise the filling will be runny. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.

Classic Dutch Apple Pie

Crust/topping:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup brown sugar, packed
¾ cup butter, melted
½ cup quick oats
Filling:
3/4 cup white sugar
3 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 1/3 cups cold water
1/2 tsp cinnamon
4 medium apples, diced and peeled (best if you use a mix like Granny Smith and Gala)
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

Optional: vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce to serve

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, melted butter, and oats until well combined. Remove 1 cup of the mixture and set aside for the topping, press remaining crumb mixture into a 9-inch greased pie pan and set aside. In a large saucepan over medium high heat, whisk together the sugar, cornstarch and water until smooth. Bring to a boil and constantly stir while it boils for 2 minutes, until the mixture is thickened). Remove saucepan from heat and stir in the diced apples and vanilla then pour into the pie pan and top with the remaining 1 cup reserved crumb mixture. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until the crust is a golden brown. Let cool before serving, otherwise the filling will be runny. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce

Source | Six Sister’s Stuff

Also shared at:

What’d you do this weekend
Tell ’em Tuesday
Fiesta Friday

44 thoughts on “Classic Dutch Apple Pie

  1. MealsWithMel says:

    Yum! I’m with you I love Apple Pie especially in the Fall and Apple Pie first thing in the morning for Breakfast is the best 🙂 I can’t wait to try this recipe for Dutch Apple Pie (its my grandpa’s favorite)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Janessa says:

    Okay, did I know that apple pie is your favorite?! Why is this not ringing a bell? What kind of sister am I?! Did you know that it’s my favorite too? Please say you didn’t. It would make me feel a little better. And I’d take crumb topping over a traditional crust any day. This sounds like complete perfection. Especially for a cold fall night that I’m sure you’re enjoying over there. And for a redemption point, I do know that you don’t like to fruit in your savory dishes. See, I do know you 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Whisked Away says:

      You are so funny! I’ve never met a pie I haven’t liked so maybe that’s why I haven’t outwardly expressed my love for apple pie in particular 🙂 Glad to know we both share a favorite, can’t wait to have Thanksgiving together so we can enjoy an apple pie together! But yes, you know me when it comes to fruit in savory dishes 🙂

      Like

  3. CakePants says:

    Wow, this looks SO amazing – my mouth is watering just looking at your photos!! I’ve actually never made an apple pie before (I’ve made cherry, pumpkin, peach, berry pies, etc.) but for whatever reason, never apple. Pinning for future use!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sewloveable says:

    This looks amazing and you’re right….apple pie must swim in a bit of ice cream. It just takes the pie to the next level. Then you go and knock it out of the park with the caramel sauce….omg.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joylovefood says:

    Yum! I love apple desserts too, this sounds amazing! I would happily have some for breakfast as well 🙂 Thanks for sharing at What’d You Do This Weekend? I hope you will join us again next Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

