BBQ Burger Sliders

Where do I start….I feel like I rave about every single recipe so I feel like a broken record. I know I tell you every time how much you NEED each recipe in your life. So this time I’ll leave it to the testimony of others. First of all we’re talking hamburgers. I mean, it’s nothing earth shattering, but there is just something about these that left my husband speechless. I got the recipe for the patties from a fellow Kiwi cook who made a steep claim that her husband’s hamburger patties were the best in the world. So I gave them a try, and after each bite my husband was like oh.my.gosh.this.is.the.best.hamburger.I’ve.ever.eaten. So grandma Judy’s partner, Pete (FYI “partner” is referring to your significant other, I know it has a different connotation in the States) was over next door so I brought a few over to share with them. Because that’s just what we do. Not even 5 minutes later he came over just raving about them. He ate them both, he didn’t even share with Judy. He told me he’s a big hamburger guy, but these were THE best hamburgers he’s ever had. And then Jason asked me to make them again when we had the missionaries over a few days later. And between the two of them they ate 9 burgers. And then I’ve been requested to make them again this weekend when we visit Pete’s farm.  So I’ll just leave you with that introduction, but I’d say that’s a pretty strong recommendation.

The best BBQ Burger Sliders ever!
Crack 2 eggs into a bowl and whisk together. Mix in the breadcrumbs, mixed herbs, garlic, beef bouillon and BBQ sauce, mix until combined.

The best BBQ Burger Sliders ever!
Add the ground beef and use your hands to mix it all together. Split the mixture into 6-8 balls and flatten into patties.

The best BBQ Burger Sliders ever!
Coat them lightly in flour, gently pat to remove the excess flour.

The best BBQ Burger Sliders ever!
Grill over medium heat for 7-8 minutes per side, or until cooked through (don’t over cook or they will become dry). During the last minute of cooking, lay cheese slices on top and cook until beginning to melt (I totally forgot to add the cheese, so after this picture I put them back on the grill :).

The best BBQ Burger Sliders ever!
Split the rolls in half then broil for a minute or two until lightly toasted. Mix the ketchup and mayo together then spread on both sides of the roll. Place burger (with melted cheese slice) on bottom roll, then layer with tomatoes, pickles, red onion and salad greens, then cover with the top roll and enjoy!

The best BBQ Burger Sliders ever!

BBQ Burger Slider
For the patties:
1 lb ground beef
2 eggs
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
1 tsp mixed herbs (or 1/2 tsp parsley and 1/2 tsp basil)
1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp beef bouillon
2 TBSP BBQ sauce

Crack 2 eggs into a bowl and whisk together. Mix in the breadcrumbs, mixed herbs, garlic, beef bouillon and BBQ sauce, mix until combined. Add the ground beef and use your hands to mix it all together. Split the mixture into 6-8 balls and flatten into patties. Coat them lightly in flour, gently pat to remove the excess flour. Grill over medium heat for 7-8 minutes per side, or until cooked through (don’t over cook or they will become dry). During the last minute of cooking, lay cheese slices on top and cook until beginning to melt.

For the burgers:
6-8 crusty dinner rolls
6-8 cheese slices (I used colby)
1/2 cup ketchup
1/4 cup mayo
sliced pickles
sliced tomatoes
sliced red onions
spring mix salad greens

Split the rolls in half then broil for a minute or two until lightly toasted. Mix the ketchup and mayo together then spread on both sides of the roll. Place burger (with melted cheese slice) on bottom roll, then layer with tomatoes, pickles, red onion and salad greens, then cover with the top roll and enjoy!

Source | Kiwi Country Girl

Also shared at:
Tell ’em Tuesday
Fiesta Friday
What’d You Do This Weekend

35 thoughts on “BBQ Burger Sliders

  1. Laura says:

    I am SOOOO happy you loved them!! Josh is pretty stoked too =) Yours look awesome…what a great idea putting the cheese on them before you take them out of the pan…I’ll be doing that next time for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Janessa says:

    Wow, those are quite the rave reviews! I’ll definitely have to give them a try! We are grill-less right now. Do you have any tips on indoor cooking? I’m sure I could figure it out but thought I’d see if the professional had any suggestions 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MealsWithMel says:

    I have a confession Jamie I have never been one who love hamburgers… But after reading this recipe for these BBQ burger sliders…. My mouth is watering and I’m starving. I’m going to have to try these ASAP:) thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

