White Lightning Chicken Lime Chilli

White Lightning Chicken Lime Chilli

My friend brought over this soup right after I had one of my babies. It was absolutely delicious. And it wasn’t just because I was breastfeeding and wanted to eat everything in sight, or because I was so sleep deprived that my brain couldn’t function. No, I have made it several times since then and it is just as delicious as the first! This soup has since become one of my favorites with it’s rich creamy texture and hint of lime, topped with a handful of crushed tortilla chips. Perfection.

White Lightning Chicken Lime Chilli
White Lightning Chicken Lime Chilli
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1/2 onion, chopped
1 Tbs olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 can (4 ounces) chopped green chilies
2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 tablespoon lime juice
¼ cup chopped cilantro
2 cans (15 1/2 ounces each) Great Northern Beans, rinsed and drained
1 can white shoepeg corn
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup heavy cream

Toppings: tortilla chips, lime wedges, cilantro, shredded cheese, sour cream.

Cook and shred chicken, then set aside. In a pot over medium high heat, saute onion, salt, cumin, oregano, pepper and cayenne pepper for 5-6 min. Add garlic and green chilies then saute another minute or two. Add chicken broth, lime juice, cilantro, beans,  corn and shredded chicken. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Stir in cream and sour cream then cook until warmed through.  Garnish each serving with desired toppings.

Source | Chelsea Figgins

12 thoughts on “White Lightning Chicken Lime Chilli

  1. Nicole says:

    Jamie- I don’t know if you still check this, but I have a quick question. I’m a little confused about when to add the cream and sour cream. It seems like the first part of the recipe was for how to cook on the stove, and then the second is in a slow cooker. This looks so yummy and I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

  2. Whisked Away says:

    Woah, not sure what happened there! Thanks for pointing that out, I fixed it now so hopefully it makes more sense 🙂 Life has been so busy since we’ve moved back so this blog has definitely taken the back burner, but I’m glad you still use some of the recipes! Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

    • Nicole says:

      Yes I use your recipes all the time and I love them. I even have a neighbor now trying them. I hope you’re loving life back in the States!

      Like

Leave a Reply

