Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

My sister had posted a picture of her flat bread pizza lunch on instagram and I immediately added it to the next week’s menu. Such a quick and easy lunch or dinner that can easily be customized to fit any taste. I love the smokey flavor of the charred bread combined with the subtle flavor  of pesto and dripping with melted cheese. The tomatoes and basil freshen it up and the zip of balsamic vinegar just ties it all together. Even though it’s more soup weather than it is grilling weather over here, I just couldn’t resist. Although by the time this scheduled post is up then we’ll be well on our way back to the states where I can’t wait to eat all the seasonal fresh fruit and host BBQ’s with friends and family! Eeeek! I’m giddy with excitement just thinking about it! And I have a feeling there will be plenty more grilled flat bread pizza in our near future!

Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

2 whole wheat naan flatbreads (the flatbread they sell here is more like a tortilla, so I used a panini bread instead)
olive oil (for brushing)
coarse sea salt
1/4 cup pesto (approximately)
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1 tomato, sliced
fresh basil, chopped
balsamic vinegar (to drizzle)
diced grilled chicken (optional)

Brush both sides of bread with olive oil, then lightly sprinkle each side with coarse sea salt. Add the flatbread to the grill and cook over med-low heat for 3-4 minutes. Flip over then remove from grill and spread the cooked side with pesto, sprinkle with cheese, add tomato slices (and diced grilled chicken if using). Return to the grill, close the lid and continue cooking for an additional 3-4 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Transfer to serving plate, garnish with chopped basil and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

Source | Six Little Chefs

Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

5 thoughts on “Grilled Flat Bread Pesto Pizza

  1. Janessa says:

    Mmmm…looks fabulous! I just toasted mine in the kitchen but I love the idea of grilling it! I’ll definitely have to give it a try. Maybe we could make some together even!!!! Can’t wait to see you 😉

    Like

  2. foodsciencebaker says:

    Oh! Pesto is my absolute favorite. I really, really need a grill. For some reason they don’t allow them within 10 feet of any residences in my town, and since I’m in an apartment without a yard, that means my grill is at my parents full-time 😦 These look awesome, though! Maybe I can make them and take them to the park to grill 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

