Reese’s Peanut Butter Bars

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars

Next to family and friends, it’s the foods that we miss the most from home. I’ve gone on my Mexican Food rants before, but now it’s time to talk about Reese’s Peanut Butter cups. Don’t get me wrong, they have got the most delicious chocolate here and so much variety, but Reese’s PB cups are home. Just the smell brings back a flood of memories of Halloween. Food is memories. When I came across this recipe here, I was immediately drawn to it because, hello, chocolate and peanut butter. Need I say more. And because it was so simple to make. But I didn’t realize that they would taste just like Reese’s Peanut Butter cups until I took that first bite. It was like the heavens opened and angels were singing. I couldn’t wait for my husband and kids to have some, their first reaction was, “oh my gosh, these taste just like Reese’s!” And of course we had to share some with our American missionaries that are serving here too. It’s a shame I didn’t discover this like two years ago, but even though we’ll be back soon enough to the land of milk and honey and endless supplies of Reese’s, I know I’ll keep coming back to this recipe because it is so simple and absolutely delicious. And there’s all that jazz about not being filled with preservatives, but you know that’s never stopped me from eating them before 🙂

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars
I originally cut them into 9 squares, but they are super rich, so I cut them into 36 bite sized pieces and they were just perfect.

Reese's Peanut Butter Bars

Filling:
½ cup butter
¾ cup creamy peanut butter
2 ¼ cups powdered sugar

Topping:
1 ¼ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 tablespoons butter
Directions:

Melt 1/2 cup butter, then use a beater to beat together melted butter and peanut butter in a medium bowl. Gradually mix in powdered sugar and continue beating until smooth. Press into the bottom of a 9 x 9 pan. Use a double boiler to melt the chocolate chips with 2 Tbs butter. Or melt butter and set aside to cool, then microwave chocolate chips for 30 second intervals, stirring in between each interval until melted and smooth. Gradually stir in melted butter (be sure the butter is not too hot or it will scorch the chocolate) until evenly combined. Spread the chocolate on top. Chill for about 30 minutes, until set then cut into squares with a sharp knife. Store in an air-tight container in the refrigerator.

Source | Blue Nose Baker

6 thoughts on “Reese’s Peanut Butter Bars

  1. Shari says:

    These look incredible! Reese’s are my favorite candy bar. I’m afraid if I made these I will eat the whole pan. But I think I am going to do it anyway! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

