Cookies & Cream Chocolate Layered Cake

This right here is death by Cookies & Cream. I mentioned before that I have never really been into cake making before. I still have zero talent when it comes to decorating. Fondant is a foreign language to me, and I’ll leave that one to the professionals. But ever since I made that Mint Chocolate Chip layered cake for my daughter’s birthday, I couldn’t wait to try making another version. When a friend had a birthday I was excited for a chance to experiment some more. When I found this to-die-for cream cheese Cookies & Cream frosting, I knew that had to be it. The combination of that frosting with my all time favorite moist chocolate cake was enough to do me in! To say it was delicious was an understatement. It was a huge hit with the birthday crowd (I’ll have to make it again so I can sneak a picture after it was cut, and before it was inhaled at record speed) and I have requests to make it again. If you like anything Cookies & Cream, you may lose all self control with this. Consider yourself warned.

Cookies and Cream Layered Chocolate Cake

For the cake:

4 C flour
4 C sugar
4 tsp baking powder
4 tsp baking soda
1 C cocoa
1 c butter, melted
2 C water
2 C milk
4 eggs

For the frosting:

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
3 3/4 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 Tbs cream (or more)
1 package Oreo cookies

For the cake: Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl add flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa, butter, water, milk and eggs, mix until combined (don’t over mix). Line the bottom of two 9 inch round spring form cake pans with parchment paper, then spray with cooking spray. Pour batter into pans and bake 45 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool completely before removing spring form. For the frosting: Cream together butter and cream cheese until smooth and whipped, about 3-4 minutes. Add vanilla, then gradually add powdered sugar while beating until blended well. Add the cream and continue to beat until desired consistency is reached. Crush Oreos, reserve about 1 cup for the top then mix the rest into the frosting. After the cake has cooled, spread the top of one cake with frosting, then set the second cake on top. Evenly frost the top and sides then garnish with reserved crushed Oreos.

Source| Cake- Julie Tovey, Frosting- Instructables

9 thoughts on “Cookies & Cream Chocolate Layered Cake

Leave a Reply

